Penicillium mold has four recognized species

Which species produce mycotoxins?

The genus Penicillium contains four recognized species and two subspecies. Several mycotoxins are produced by these fungi. Those toxins are nephrotoxic or teratogenic. A toxins may damage internal organs and the immune system. They are known to cause respiratory ailments and poor immune system.

This species are Biverticillium, NBRC 109724, Torulomyces, and Pseudomyces. A fungus is green in color and possesses chains of spores that extend from the tip. While there are no definite color charts for each penicillium mold there is a range of known species that produce different volatile.

What does Penicillium produce?

Penicillium mold has four recognized speciesThe mVOCs of the other two types vary, and their mVOC profiles are highly variable. To identifying Penicillium molds is extremely difficult.Depending on the type of this fungi can be very dangerous.

The symptoms of these fungi may appear as white or crumbly bumps. If they are not treated immediately, the symptoms will continue to get worse. If you don’t treat this infected area the spores will spread further through the air and can lead to more serious infections.

What are four types of Penicillium species?

The four recognized penicillium species are: P. chrysogenum, and P. purpurogenum. These penicillium species that you should be worried about are the most common. Molds are responsible for many kinds of illnesses .

In the United States, there are four recognized species of penicillium mold. Those species P. roqueforti and P. choerospondiatum are both fungi associated with outdoor and indoor environments. While the other species have the potential to be toxic to people, these fungus is found on Choerospondias axillaris.

What type of fungi is Penicillium chrysogenum?

A penicillium chrysogenum, a penicillium cylindromium, and a P. chrysogenum. The former is the most common in Thailand, while the latter is the only one found outside of this country. Its name, wellingtonense, is the genus’ most widespread.They are classified according to their morphological characteristics. The first two are more common than the others.

These second type, penicillium aesperatum, and pseudomygium axarius are the same. Those are the only two species with an apical morphology. All four species of Penicillium molds are called “peniciophores” or “penicillium” niger, respectively.